North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority

Jeff Austin, III - Chairman



During FY05, the Commissioners Courts of Gregg County and Smith County jointly created the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority (NETRMA) in response to sharp decreases in traditional highway funding in the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) transportation planning process. The regional mobility authority was formed under Chapter 370 of the Texas Transportation Code, and Title 43, Part 1, Chapter 26 of the Texas Administrative Code.

NETRMA is a political subdivision formed to finance, acquire, design, construct, operate, maintain, expand, or extend transportation projects. The newly created RMA will benefit the local economies by generating revenue for additional transportation projects; providing local governments more control in transportation planning; and helping to build transportation projects sooner, which will bring congestion relief faster, improve mobility and increase safety for motorists.

Original Petition